AUGUST 25TH, 2021

Américas Award Announces 2022 Call for Submissions

The Consortium of Latin American Studies Programs’ Américas Award is now accepting submissions for the 2022 cycle!

Call for Submissions deadline is January 31, 2022

To encourage and commend authors, illustrators and publishers who produce quality children’s and young adult books that portray Latin America, the Caribbean, or the Latinx community in the United States, and to provide teachers with recommendations for classroom use, the national Consortium of Latin American Studies Programs (CLASP) offers up to two annual book awards, together with a commended list of titles.

Up to two awards (for primary and secondary reading levels) are given in recognition of U.S. published works of fiction, poetry, folklore, or selected non-fiction (from picture books to works for young adults) that authentically and engagingly portray Latin America, the Caribbean, or Latinos in the United States. By linking the Americas, the intent is to reach beyond geographic borders, as well as multicultural-international boundaries, focusing instead upon cultural heritages within the hemisphere. Books will be judged for:

1) Distinctive literary quality; 2) Cultural contextualization; 3) Exceptional integration of text, illustration and design; and 4) Potential for classroom use.

The book must be published in 2021.
The title may be for primary or secondary reading levels.
Language of publication may be English, Spanish, Portuguese, French, or any language indigenous to the Americas.
The book must be published in the United States or by a publisher with offices within the U.S.
Submissions may be fiction, poetry, folklore, or selected non-fiction.
A book will only be considered in its first year of publication in the United States. A book originally published in the U.S. in English with a translated edition in a subsequent year will only be eligible the first year of the edition.

To nominate a 2021 copyright title, publishers are invited to submit review copies to the committee members listed here by January 31, 2022. There is no entry fee.

The list of award winners, honorable mention and commended titles will be announced in the spring of 2022, recognizing works published in 2021. The formal award presentation will be held during Hispanic Heritage Month 2022 at The Library of Congress in Washington, D.C.

Please send nine copies of the nominated book (one each) to the Review Committee Members and the Award Coordinators from the attached call for submissions.