AUGUST 26TH, 2015

CLASP Announces 2015 Américas Award Program

CLASP Announces 2015 Américas Award Program
August 26, 2015

The Consortium of Latin American Studies Programs (CLASP) announces the 2015 Américas Award program scheduled to take place at the start of Hispanic Heritage Month on September 17 and 18, 2015 in Washington, D.C.

This year’s Américas Award winning authors, Duncan Tonatiuh and Margarita Engle will be presented with the 2015 Américas Award for children’s and young adult literature that portray Latin America, the Caribbean, or Latinos in the United States for their books respectively Separate is Never Equal: Sylvia Mendez & Her Family’s Fight for Desegregation and Engle’s Silver People: Voices from the Panama Canal.

CLASP will introduce K-12 educators in the Washington, D.C. area to themes of civil rights, cultural identity, family and more through the annual Américas Award Teacher Workshop. This year’s workshop, Civil Rights through the Américas Award will enable educators to engage with both Duncan Tonatiuh and Margarita Engle in a hands-on, interactive workshop developed for teachers of all subjects and grade levels. The teacher workshop will be held at Busboys & Poets’ 14th street location on Thursday, September 17th from 5:30 PM — 8:30 PM. The workshop is in collaboration with Teaching for Change. Registration is required. More information can be found by contacting: 504-862-3143 or

The 2015 Américas Award will be presented on Friday, September 18, 2015 in a ceremony hosted by The Library of Congress and sponsored by the Hispanic Division, the Center for the Book, the Young Readers Center, Abrams Books, Houghton Mifflin Harcourt and by Latin American Studies centers at: Florida International University, Stanford University, Tulane University, Vanderbilt University, University of Florida, University of New Mexico, University of Utah, and the University of Wisconsin — Milwaukee. The ceremony will be located in the Library of Congress Hispanic Reading Room, Thomas Jefferson Building, 10 First Street SE.

Admission to the ceremony is free and open to the public. Please rsvp by contacting: 202-707-2013 or

Jamie Lee Marks
Phone: 727-773-7081

Denise Woltering Vargas
Phone: 504-862-3143