Nomination Guidelines

Deadline for 2021 submissions: January 31, 2021.

Call for Submissions – 2021 Award


  • The book must be published in 2020.
  • The title may be for primary or secondary reading levels.
  • Language of publication may be English, Spanish, Portuguese, French, or any language indigenous to the Americas.
  • The book must be published in the United States or by a publisher with offices within the U.S.
  • Submissions may be fiction, poetry, folklore, or selected non-fiction.
  • A book will only be considered in its first year of publication in the United States. A book originally published in the U.S. in English with a translated edition in a subsequent year will only be eligible the first year of the edition.


To nominate a 2020 copyright title, publishers are invited to submit nine copies of the nominated book to the Américas Review Committee Members (including the ex-officio members) and the Award Coordinators by January 31, 2021. There is no entry fee.

Call for Submissions – 2021 Award

The list of award winners, honorable mention and commended titles will be announced in May 2021, recognizing works published in in the previous year. The formal award presentation is held during Hispanic Heritage month at the Library of Congress, Washington, D.C. in the fall. Read more about the award ceremony here.