Américas Award

CLASP founded the Américas Award in 1993 to encourage and commend authors, illustrators and publishers who produce quality children’s and young adult books that portray Latin America, the Caribbean, or Latinx cultures in the United States, and to provide teachers with recommendations for classroom use. CLASP offers up to two annual book awards, together with a commended list of titles.

Download the Américas Award Toolkit here!
Purchase award seals for your books here.

Contact the Américas Award Coordinator

Katrina Dillon, University of Arizona
Cynthia Garza, Tulane University

The 2023 Américas Award Winners and Honor Books have been announced!

2023 Award Winners

Growing an Artist: The Story of a Landscaper and His Son by John Parra (Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers, 2022)

Isla to Island by Alexis Castellanos (Atheneum Books for Young Readers, 2022)

2023 Honorable Mention Titles
Ándale, Prieta by Yasmín Ramirez (Lee & Low Books, 2022)

Miss Quinces by Kat Fajardo, Color by Mariana Azzi (Graphix an imprint of Scholastic Books, 2022)

Self-Made Boys by Anna-Marie McLemore (Feiwel and Friends, 2022)

Watch the 2023 Winners Announcement featuring our special young announcers!

2023 Américas Award Sponsors
The awards are administered by the Consortium of Latin American Studies Programs (CLASP) and coordinated by both Tulane University’s Stone Center for Latin American Studies and the University of Arizona’s Center for Latin American Studies. Generous support is also provided by Florida International University, Michigan State University, Stanford University, University of California, Los Angeles UNC-Duke Consortium in Latin American and Caribbean Studies, University of Florida, University of New Mexico, University of Texas at Austin, University of Utah, the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee. and Vanderbilt University.